Join the Faculty

Please Note Membership Runs From September To August

Faculty Members

The annual membership subscription is £40 or £20 for students.

Fellowship Of The Faculty

The annual membership subscription is £110 or £55 for students.

For details about the different memberships, Click here.

Please fill out the gift aid form if applicable -  Gift Aid Declaration

Please note that members of our Faculty do not automatically become members of The Worshipful Society of Apothecaries of London.

Executive Committee Members

We will have three vacancies on the Executive Committee with Dr David Wright, Professor John Sheldrake and Mr Graham Kyle standing down at the end of their terms. If you are interested in being nominated to stand for election, please click on the link for Nomination for Committee Membership 2019

If you have any questions about what serving on the Executive Committee entails, please get in touch. Please note the closing date for applications is 8 April 2019.


Faculty of the History and Philosophy of Medicine and Pharmacy

Contact: Maria Ferran
Telephone: 020 7236 1189

Apothecary Lecturers

There are currently fifteen Apothecaries’ Lecturers in the History of Medicine appointed in medical schools, universities and institutions in the UK.

They, with the approval and support of their Deans, teach the history of medicine to medical students and others with an interest in the topic, both as part of the normal curriculum and also as extra lectures and courses.

Some run Special Study Modules in medical history, success in which counts towards final qualification. These attract considerable attention and large numbers of students.

More lecturers are being recruited, both in the UK, and some overseas. It is very encouraging that the newly founded medical schools are appointing Apothecaries’ Lecturers in the History of Medicine. They are all people with a strong commitment to the teaching of the history of medicine and a link to the Faculty as a resource to support them in this work.

Brighton and Sussex Medical School

Dr Hilary Morris

Western General Hospital, Edinburgh

Mr Andreas Demetriades

St Bartholomew's and The Royal London School of Medicine

Mr Jonathan Evans

Exeter University School of Medicine

Dr Christopher Gardner-Thorpe
Professor Mark Jackson

University of Edinburgh College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Dr I Macintyre
Dr D Wright


University of Liverpool Medical School

Dr Andrew Larner

University of London, Institute of Psychiatry

Professor Edgar Jones

St George's, University of London

Professor Deborah Bowman
Dr Hugh Thomas

Honorary Lecturer, Manchester Medical School

Mr Malcolm Colledge

Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, Bahrain

Professor David Misselbrook

Welcome to our newly appointed lecturers 2017;
Mr Graham Kyle
Dr Hugh Thomas
(Overseas lecturers) Professor David Misselbrook
& Major General John Pearn