Faculty Prizes

Maccabaean Prize and Medal

For the best dissertation submitted for the Diploma in the History of Medicine examination.
The Maccabaean Society was founded in 1891 as ‘an association of Jewish professional gentlemen in a species of club’. It now has 500 members, both women and men, most of whom are distinguished professionals.

Congratulations to Mr Bryan Rhodes who is the winner of the 2020 Maccabaean Prize and Medal, this will be presented at one of our evening lectures in 2021.

Previous Maccabaean Prize Winners - Click here

The Sydney Selwyn Lecture

The Sydney Selwyn Lecture (formally the Sydney Selwyn prize) is in memory of Professor Sydney Selwyn (1934-1996), a medical microbiologist and bacteriologist, bone marrow transplant pioneer, and world-class expert in the history and development of medicine. The prize is awarded to the best candidate in the Diploma in the Philosophy of Medicine examination.

The winner of the 2019 Sydney Selwyn Lecture is Dr Sara Dahlen.  The Examiners have decided to award a 'High Commendation' to Professor Anthony Redmond. Both will be giving a short lecture on 24th March 2020. Click here

Past winners
2018 - Dr Tina Matthews
2016 - Daniel Di Franceso
2012 - Miss Evelyn Brown
2010 - Dr Margaret Baker
2009 - Christopher Mark Crawshaw
2008 - Dr Katherine Elen Catford
2007 - Michael Trent Hardman
2006 - Paul Bingham & Edith Rom
2005 - Caroline Bagley & Ben Whitelaw
2004 - Robert Ali

Diane Budden, Dr Anthony Roe & Suzannah Musson

Diane Budden, Dr Anthony Roe & Suzannah Musson

Barry Selwyn & Dr Tina Matthews

The Rose Prize

The Osler Lecture

This prize commemorates William Rose, Apothecary of London, whose court case of 1701-04 established the legal foundation of General Practice in England and Fraser Rose, a co-founder of the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP). The Worshipful Society of Apothecaries of London and the RCGP are pleased to announce that the Rose Prize for original work in the History of General Practice in the British Isles.

Submissions for the Rose Prize is now open, closing date: 31 March 2021. Please click here for the criteria.


The Osler Lecture was inaugurated in 1967 and is named after Sir William Osler, the great medical humanist and historian.  It is normally given by the student who is deemed to have delivered the best Test Lecture in the History of Medicine Diploma examination.

Congratulations to Dr William Parker, Winner of the 2019 Osler Lecture.


Dr Kenneth Collins was presented the Rose Prize by the Royal College of General Practitioners and WSOA 2019

Duaa Khair receiving the medal for the Osler 2019

Dr Noel Snell receiving the Osler medal 2018