The Society of Apothecaries’ archives, housed at Apothecaries’ Hall, constitute a unique and fascinating record of national significance. They chart the history of its development and its changing roles and activities as: a City Livery Company (incorporated by royal charter in 1617); a major centre for the manufacture and sale of drugs at the Hall (1671-1922); the founder (in 1673) and manager (until 1899) of Chelsea Physic Garden, and medical examining and licensing body (1815 to the present day).
All Archive personnel are volunteers and the Archive office is not permanently staffed, responses to enquiries may take a little time. However every endeavor will be made to answerer queries as soon as is feasible.
Curator & Past Master: Mr Nicholas Wood
Archive queries: Mrs Janet Payne
Friends of the Archives: Friends@apothecaries.org
Heritage Lottery Fund ‘Your Heritage’ grant
In 2002 the Society of Apothecaries was awarded a grant to fund the installation of an archival environmental control system to service the new repository at Apothecaries’ Hall. The aim of the project was to create the correct environmental conditions in which to store and use archival material.