The Society of Apothecaries’ archives, housed at Apothecaries’ Hall, constitute a unique and fascinating record of national significance. They chart the history of its development and its changing roles and activities as: a City Livery Company (incorporated by royal charter in 1617); a major centre for the manufacture and sale of drugs at the Hall (1671-1922); the founder (in 1673) and manager (until 1899) of Chelsea Physic Garden, and medical examining and licensing body (1815 to the present day).
In 2002 the Society of Apothecaries was awarded a grant to fund the installation of an archival environmental control system to service the new repository at Apothecaries’ Hall. The aim of the project was to create the correct environmental conditions in which to store and use archival material.
All Archive personnel are volunteers and the Archive office is not permanently staffed, responses to inquiries may take a little time. However every endeavor will be made to answer queries as soon as is feasible.
Contact: Janet Payne
Contact: Mr Nicholas Wood
Contact: Paul Simmons, Secretary
Apothecaries' Hall, Black Friars Lane, London EC4V 6EJ
020 7236 1189