## **GALEN MEDAL WINNERS**

- 1926 Prof WE DIXON, BSc, MA, MD, DPH, FRS Pharmacology
- 1927 Sir Gowland HOPKINS, MA, LLD, DSc, FRCP, FRIC, FRS Discovery of vitamins
- 1928 Prof JJ ABEL, MD, ScD, LLD Isolation of Adrenaline
- 1930 Prof E FOURNEAU, Directeur de 1'Institute Pasteur Pharmacology of amino-alcohols
- 1932 Sir Henry DALE, OM, GBE, MA, MD, FRCP, FRS- Neurophysiology
- 1934 Prof Sir Frederick BANTING, MC, Hon FRCS, DSc, LLD Discovery of Insulin
- 1946 Sir Alexander FLEMING, FRCP, FRCS, FRS & Lord FLOREY, MA, MD, FRCP, FRS Penicillin
- 1947 F CURD, BSc, PhD, D DAVEY, MSc, PhD & F ROSE, BSc, PhD Discovery of Paludrine
- 1948 Sir Lionel WHITBY, CVO, MC, MD, FRCP Sulphonamides
- 1949 Prof J TREFOUEL, Directeur de 1'Institute Pasteur Sulphonamides
- 1951 Prof Sir Charles DODDS, Bt, MVO, MD, FRCP, FRS Biochemistry
- 1953 Sir Charles HARINGTON, MA, PhD, FRS Synthesised Thyroxin
- 1954 EL SMITH, DSc, FRIC Vitamin B<sub>12</sub>
- 1955 Lord BROCK, MS, FRCS Cardiac surgery
- 1957 Prof Sir Ernst CHAIN, MA, DPhil, FRS Production of Penicillin
- 1958 Sir Macfarlane BURNET, OM, MD, FRCP, FRS Vaccines for virus infections
- 1959 Prof Sir Bradford HILL, CBE, PhD, DSc, FRS Medical statistics
- 1960 Sir Tudor THOMAS, DSc, MD, MS, FRCS Corneo-plastic surgery
- 1961 Prof R PATERSON, CBE, MC, MD, FRCS, FFR Radiotherapy
- 1962 Prof W PENFIELD, OM, CMG, MD, DSc, FRS Neurosurgery & Neurophysiology
- 1963 Prof Sir Alexander HADDOW, MD, DSc, PhD, FRS Experimental pathology & cancer research
- 1964 FP Doyle, MSc, FRIC & GN Rolinson, BSc, PhD Chemical & biological development of the new penicillins
- 1965 Sir Terence CAWTHORNE, MD, FRCS Otological research & method
- 1966 Prof C HUGGINS, MD, FRCS Physiological surgery & therapeutics
- 1967 Sir Peter MEDAWAR, CBE, DSc, FRS & I COOPER, MD, PhD *Experimental medicine Neurosurgery*
- 1968 T MILLIN, MA, MCh, FRCS Prostatic surgery
- 1969 Prof Sir Harold HIMSWORTH, KCB, MD, FRCP Services to medicine
- 1970 Prof C CLARKE, MD, PRCP, FRS Genetics
- 1971 J CHARNLEY, CBE, DSc, FRCS Pioneer work on the operation of hip replacement
- 1972 D BURKITT, MD, FRCS, FRS Sarcoma of the jaw in African children
- 1973 Sir George GODBER, GCB, DM, DPH, FRCP Public Health medicine
- 1974 Sir Michael WOODRUFF, MD, FRCS, FRS Transplantation surgery
- 1975 L GOODWIN, FRCP Pharmacology & chemotherapy
- 1976 Sir William PATON, CBE, DM, FRCP Medical Science
- 1977 J WALSHE, ScD, MA, MD, FRCP Treatment of Wilson's disease
- 1978 Prof S BERGSTROM, MD, DMedSci, PhD Prostaglandins
- 1979 C SAUNDERS, OBE, FRCP, MD, DSc Palliative Care
- 1980 JW BLACK, FRCP, FRS Beta-blockers
- 1981 JF ENDERS, MA, PhD Oral poliomyelitis vaccination
- 1982 GM SCHWICKERATH Photo-coagulation of the retina

- 1983 JR VANE, BSc, PhD, FRS Identification & pharmaceutical characterization of the prostaglandin group
- 1984 C WILLIAMS, CMG, DM, DSc, FRCP Children's health in the Third World
- 1985 FM SONES, MD Coronary angiography and C MILSTEIN, PhD, FRS - Monoclonal antibodies
- 1986 NHL RIDLEY, MD, FRCS, FRS Intra ocular plastic lenses
- 1987 Prof Sir Roy CALNE, MA, MS, FRCS, FRS Liver surgery & transplantation
- 1988 Sir Richard DOLL, OBE, MD, FRCP, DSc, FRS Epidemiology
- 1989 Prof Sir David WEATHERALL, MD, FRCP, FRS Molecular haematology
- 1990 Sir Donald ACHESON, KBE, DM, DSc, FRCP, FFOM For contribution to British & International medicine
- 1991 Sir James GOWANS, CBE, FRCP, FRS Role of lymphocytes
- 1992 Prof CD MARSDEN, FRS Clinical neurology & pharmacology
- 1993 HHG EASTCOTT, MS, FRCS, FRCOG Cerebral circulation & the carotid vessels
- 1994 Prof KD BAGSHAWE, CBE, MD, FRCP, FRCR, FRS Management of choriocarcinoma
- 1995 HRH The Princess Royal, LG, LT, GCVO, QSO Save the Children Fund
- 1996 Sir David JACK, CBE, PhD, FRS Development of Beta-blockers
- 1998 JEA WICKHAM, FRCS, FRCP, FRCR Minimal invasive surgery
- 1999 Prof S MONCADA, FRCP, FRS Nitric Oxide pathway in vascular biology
- 2000 Prof P SLEIGHT, MD, DM, FRCP Work on cardio vascular physiology
- 2001 Prof Sir John CROFTON, MD, FRCP Treatment of Tuberculosis
- 2002 Prof NS WILLIAMS, MS, FRCS Care of patients with colorectal malignancies
- 2003 AIJ BRAIN, MA, LMSSA, FFARCSI, FRCA, FANZCA Laryngeal mask airway
- 2004 Prof JM NEWSON DAVIES, CBE, MD, FRCP, FRS Myasthenic Syndromes
- 2005 Prof Sir Peter MANSFIELD, FRS Magnetic Resonance Imaging
- 2006 Prof Sir Ravinder MAINI, FRCP Rheumatology & immunology
- 2007 SF CAMPBELL, CBE, PhD, CChem, FRSC, FRS Medical chemistry
- 2008 Prof M BAUM, ChM, FRCS, MD, FRCR Hon *Treatment of breast cancer* & *breast conserving surgery*
- 2009 Prof B MARSHALL, FRACP, FRS Identification of the role of Helicobactor pylori
- 2010 Prof Sir Michael RAWLINS, DL, MD, FRCP, FFPM, FBPharmacolS, FMedSci Work as Chairman of CSM & NICE
- 2011 Prof Sir Leszek BORYSIEWICZ, BSc, PhD, FRCP, FMedSci, FRCPath, FRS Cervical cancer
- 2012 Prof NJ WHITE, OBE, MB BS, MD, DSc, FRCP, FMedSci, FRS *Work in the advances of the treatment of malaria*
- 2013 Prof Sir Richard PETO, MSc, MA, FRS, FMedSci Work in the treatment and prevention of common cardiovascular, respiratory and malignant diseases through large scale trails and meta-analysis
- 2014 Dr NB LYDON, DSc, PhD, FRS Work on improving the survival rate of chronic myeloid leukaemia
- 2015 Prof PJ BARNES, MA, DM, DSc, FRCP, FCCP, FMedSci, FRS Work on the development of treatments for asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease
- 2016 Prof Alastair COMPSTON CBE, FMedSci, FRS- Research on human demyelinating disease
- 2017 Prof Dame Anne MILLS, DCMG, CBE, FRS, FMedSci *Provision of efficient and equitable health care in low and middle income countries*

- 2018 Prof Sir Douglass M TURNBULL, FRS FMedSci For his work on rare mitochondrial diseases of children and adults
- 2019 Prof Sir Stephen P O'RAHILLY FRS FRCP FRCPI FRCPath FMedSci FRSB For his work on the aetiology and pathophysiology of human metabolic and endocrine disease and how such information might be used to improve in the diagnosis, therapy and prevention of these diseases
- 2020 Prof Dame Kay DAVIES CBE, DBE, FRS M.A D.Phil, F.MedSci, FRCP (hon), FRCPath Work in the field of the molecular analysis of human genetic disease, particularly Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD), and the application of genomics for the analysis of neurological disorders and gene-environment interactions.
- 2021 Prof Sir Peter PIOT KCMG MD PhD DTM FRCP FFPH FMedSci In recognition of his instrumental work in ensuring that effective and affordable drug therapy for HIV is available globally. His work has directly enabled millions of people living with HIV to receive treatment that has reduced ill health, improved wellbeing, and increased life expectancy. Successful treatment reduces infectiousness and is a key mechanism for preventing onward transmission and thereby ultimately ending HIV as a global public health threat
- 2022 Prof PF CHINNERY MB BS BMedSCI PHD MRCPath MRCP in recognition of work in the field of mitochondrial medicine including his development of Idebenone as a licensed therapy for Leber's Hereditary Optic Neuropathy now used in many countries throughout the world.
- 2023 Prof Dame Sarah GILBERT DBE, co-founder of Vaccitech for her work in leading the development of the Oxford vaccine against SARS-CoV-2, as well as novel vaccines using Modified Vaccinia Ankara (MVA) and the non-replicating viral vectors Chimpanzee Adenovirus Oxford (ChAdOx)
- 2024 Prof Jack CUZICK CBE for his work transforming identification of women at high risk of breast cancer and his work pioneering modern prevention cervical screening strategies that have been adopted worldwide.
- 2025 Major General Tim HODGETTS for his transformational contributions to the Emergency Medical Care of battlefield casualties that have directly resulted in greatly improved outcomes in both military and civilian victims of severe trauma.