Who We Are


The Court, Officers and Contacts


Under its current constitution, 85 per cent of the Society's membership must have obtained a medical qualification registrable with the General Medical Council, or a pharmacist’s qualification registrable with the General Pharmaceutical Council

Membership of the Society's Faculty of the History and Philosophy of Medicine and Pharmacy (established 1959), and of its Faculty in Conflict and Catastrophe Medicine (established 2005), both of which are charities by constitution, is open to the general public.

Court of Assistants

Master - Professor CG Mackworth-Young, MA, MD, FRCP
Senior Warden - Professor MN Rossor, MA MB BChir MD FRCP FMed Sci
Junior Warden - Professor MJG Farthing, BSc MD FRCP


and 21 Assistants

The Master and Wardens each serve a term of office of one year and are elected at the Court meeting in August.

Society and Hall Administrative Office:

Clerk's Office

Clerk: Nick Royle
Contact: Roseanna Youssef, Executive Assistant
Telephone: 020 7236 1189

Hall Tours

Contact: Gary Howe, Beadle
Telephone: 020 7236 1189

Society Events & Venue Hire

Contact: Verity Mitchell, Assistant Clerk
Telephone: 020 7236 1189

Faculty of the History and Philosophy of Medicine and Pharmacy & Webmaster

Contact: Maria Ferran, Faculty Manager 
Telephone: 020 7236 1189

Faculty of Conflict and Catastrophe Medicine

Contact: Goldy Gullo, Faculty Manager
Telephone: 020 7236 1189

Examinations Office

Contact: Mrs Jennifer Maclean, Registrar

Mrs Sue Last, Assistant to the Registrar
Telephone: 020 7236 1180

Ms Maria Green, Examination Assistant
Telephone: 020 7236 1180

Archives and Collections

Contact: Janet Payne, Archive Officer

Contact: Nicholas Wood, Curator

Friends' of the Archives

Contact: Paul Simmons, Secretary - Friends of the Archives


Apothecaries' Hall
Black Friars Lane
London EC4V 6EJ

Fax: 020 7329 3177