Osler Lecture 2017 - Click here to read more

The Osler Lecture was inaugurated in 1967 and is named after Sir William Osler, the great medical humanist and historian.  It is normally given by the student who gave the best dissertation in the Diploma in the History of Medicine.

Speaker: Mike Davidson, FRCS DHMSA
Lecture title: The Foundation of Taunton and Somerset Hospital (1812)


The Maccabaean Prize and Medal

The evening of the Osler Lecture is also the occasion when the Maccabaean President awards the Maccabaean Prize and Medal to the candidate presenting the best dissertation-essay in the Diploma in the History of Medicine examination from the previous year. Dr anthony Roe on behalf of the Maccabaean President presented the awards to our winners below.
(Left-Right) Diane Budden, Dr Anthony Roe, Suzannah Musson
  (Left) Mike Davidson, Speaker
 (Left - Right) Dr Tina Matthews, President &                       (Left - Right) Mike Davidson & Dr Rosalind Mike Davidson, Speaker                                                      Topping
(Left-Right) Court: Professor Michael Farthing, Dr Tina Matthews (President), Dr Peadar O'Mordha, Mike Davidson (Speaker), Mr Martin Jourdan, Dr Derek Adams (Master), Dr Tim Chambers, Dr Mike Spencer, Nick Royle (Clerk)

Back to news list